Even if Japan has lowered the cases in each day, they are still continuing measures to totally flatten the curve and have Japan a free COVID-19 country in one of the coming days. One of their measures is they banned more than 100 countries from entering Japan for the time being.

Foreign nationals categorized below are denied permission to enter Japan for the time being, unless there are exceptional circumstances.

Foreign nationals who have stayed in any of the areas listed in the following table within 14 days prior to the application for landing.

Note that foreigners (including those from the countries and regions where the entry bans do not apply) who will arrive in Japan with a flight via any of those 111 countries or regions which are subject to denial of permission to entry, with a purpose of refueling or transit, will also be denied to enter Japan in principle. This will apply regardless of whether they have entered those countries or regions or not. Foreigners from the countries and regions, where visa restrictions (suspension of visa validity or suspension of visa exemption measures) do not apply, will also be subject to entry bans if transiting through the 111 countries or regions.

Below are the list of countries/places that are banned from entering Japan:

AsiaBangladesh, Brunei, China (including Hong Kong and Macau), India, Indonesia, Republic of Korea, Malaysia, Maldives, Pakistan, Philippines, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand, Vietnam
OceaniaAustralia, New Zealand
North AmericaCanada, United States
Latin America and the CaribbeanArgentine, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Honduras, Mexico, Panama, Peru, Saint Christopher and Nevis, Uruguay
EuropeAlbania, Andorra, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kyrgyz, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, North Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Vatican
Middle EastAfghanistan, Bahrain, Israel, Iran, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Turkey, United Arab Emirates
AfricaCabo Verde, Cote d’lvoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Mauritius, Morocco, Sao Tome and Principe, South Africa
Visit Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan to know the full details.